The Fire Always Burns (POEM)

It was four years ago today when
I couldn’t find the words to say
Just how much I thought of you
Enough to convince you to
Want to get to know about me
Still the fire burns defiantly
On this our anniversary
Of a world we’ll never see and
A life that could have been but
Starving the flames of oxygen
Again and again and again
Couldn’t make me expire nor
Managed to put out the fire
So I’ll think of you again tonight
Four years since you set my heart alight.

Leave a Reply

